About a week ago, my Garmin died in the middle of a run.  After a long string of curse words interrupted by heavy breathing, I finished up my run and made a best guess as to time/distance.  I had some idea because it was a course I had run before and I had about half of it in the Garmin.

Since then, I’ve been using the Map My Run app on my phone.  Also, since then, I’ve been running faster, more consistently.  My times haven’t been anything to cry from the rooftops about, but there has been a noticeable improvement.  All of my runs have averaged less than a 9:30 pace.  Ooohhh, you’re thinking sarcastically, gosh you’re soooo fast…  I know it’s not lightning fast, nor is it a huge improvement over, say, my previous week of runs, but it’s a bit.  On average, I’m probably about 15 seconds per mile faster.  

I will admit, that I’ve felt pretty good.  I haven’t felt like any of my runs have been a struggle.  So, I’m hopeful.  And, I doubt that any difference in recording distances is huge, but I’d like to know that my 9:20 average this morning on a warm, humid August day in Memphis is because I’m getting stronger and faster and not because my running app or my phone can’t accurately figure out how far I’ve gone.

This weekend I’ll head over to Shelby Farms and run a known course where the miles are marked off and see how I’m actually doing.  Fingers crossed that I’m running faster!

