Got no feel, I got no rhythm
I just keep losing my beat
I’m ok, I’m alright
Ain’t gonna face no defeat”

These lines from Queen’s “Somebody To Love” were fitting this morning (actually the last few days).  It was one of those things that makes you wonder, is there a God and how is he controlling my playlist on my iPod?  I’m running along this morning, really struggling and this song comes on (the acapella version from The Sing Off is on my playlist.  Don’t judge me.) my iPod.  Those lines just fit me to a tee.  I had planned to do 5 miles this morning and I just felt “off”.  I felt like I was going really slow, even for me.  I thought, ‘ok, this is going to get shortened’.  But, the last line struck me – Ain’t gonna face no defeat.  Horrible grammar aside, I realized that I made excuses yesterday – tired, too much time spent driving the day before, lots of brutal hills – and I couldn’t continue to do that.  

So, I did my 5.  I had some good stretches and some bad ones, but I did what I had planned to do.  I’m glad I did.  In order to be at my best for the fall/winter season, there will be days I don’t want to run or want to cut planned runs short.  I need to make sure that I only take days off or shorten runs because I need to – not because I just don’t feel like training.

