Well, it’s been a week (really 8 days) and, you may be wondering, how are things going?  In a word, swimmingly!

Let’s get the numbers out of the way.  In the first week, I lost 6 pounds (I lost another one yesterday, but that’s technically week 2).  I ran about 30.5 miles – some good, some not so good.  I ate pretty healthy and had a calorie deficit at the end of every day.  I also drank lots of water – even for me.  So, 6 pounds down, 44 to go in 93 days.  Seems doable at this point.

But, you maybe be wondering, how am I doing?  I’m actually doing pretty well.  My cravings for buckets of M&M’s is calming down and I’m getting back into the swing of recording everything, weighing and measuring foods and planning what I’m going to have for meals and snacks.  Sometimes I’m still hungry after finishing a meal, but that feeling is slowly going away.  Hopefully my stomach is shrinking and then my belly will soon follow.

I can’t say I’ve noticed a difference yet, but I think it won’t be long before that’s the case.  I think another 5 or 10 pounds and I’ll start to feel my clothes loosening up.  I can’t wait for that – losing the weight before, getting clothes in smaller sizes and then not being able to fit into them again has been depressing.

I don’t know if it’s the pounds I’ve shed or what, but my two runs so far this week have been great – better speed and feeling pretty good afterwards.  Hope that continues to improve.

That’s where I’m at.  My emotions have been quite the sine wave.1KHz_output_signal-large

I get happy thinking about how well I’ve done, then I get sad thinking that I still have a long way to go.  I’ll start to feel better thinking that I can do this, I’ve done it before.  Then, I start thinking about how, yeah I’ve done it before and should never have gotten back to this point.  Then, I think about what I’m doing it for and I get excited about the upcoming races.  That gets me worried about my plan – am I giving myself enough time to get ready for all the running after I hit my weight goal.  Ugh…

Well, one day at a time.  

Cheers,

Scott

