Sure, technically I’ve been training on some level for the past 3 years, but I’ve been a bit of a slacker lately so yesterday was what became the official start of getting ready for not just Disney, but the entire winter racing season.  I like saying “racing season” because it makes me sound like someone you’ll find on the podium and not passed out at the end.  In addition to the Dopey Challenge, I plan on running the St. Jude Memphis Marathon (gotta get my entry in for that one) and at least one half marathon.  So, I’ve got my work cut out for me.

So, Scott, how was day one, you may be asking.  It was a good day – got a pretty good run in, ate right, dropped a pound or two and felt ready to do it again today.  For me, right now, weekday runs are about maintaining a good pace for 30 or 40 minutes.  I did 30 minutes again today.  I’m not trying to set a PR, just looking for a solid distance in that time.  Usually, if I can do a 5K or better in 30 minutes, I’m pretty happy.  Both yesterday and today, I managed a 9:37 pace (3.12 miles).  When it comes to Disney, I’m hoping to do an easy 10 min/mile pace for both the 5K and 10K.  I’ll probably drop that down a bit for the half – maybe 11 min average.  The full will probably be about finishing.  If I could manage a 12 min average for that, I’d call it a win.

On the weekends, I’ll start putting some distances in – this week I’ll probably do a half marathon (13.1 miles) distance on Saturday and then I’ll do a few miles on Sunday.  In the past, training has been all about long runs on Sunday.  But, I wasn’t planning on running the day after a half marathon then.  So, I need to get used to going out the next day and putting some miles in.

Probably go to the gym tonight to do some core/arm work.  I know there’s a six-pack in there somewhere, it’s just covered by a bag of potato chips right now.  Need to work on that.  

 

 

